REVIEW: Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega Book #1)

2355575Title: Cry Wolf
Author: Patricia Briggs
Type: Paperback
Pages: 294
Published: 29th July 2008

4 Stars

I will note that I started with this book, I didn’t read the prequel and I have not read the Mercy Thompson series, and that series gets referred to a lot throughout the book, so it may be a good idea to read that series first, but I don’t think that it changed my experience of this book.

The book begins in the mountains with Walter’s story.  It had me hooked within seconds!  I wasn’t sure where the story was going to go or how he fit in but it was brilliant.

Then we move to chapter one which is Anna and Charles’s story. This is based at the tail end of a fight that has put Charles and Anna together into a new life that they weren’t exactly ready for but are more than willing to make it work.

Anna is an Omega wolf, and after 3 years of being brutalised, she is rather timid and wary of male wolves. She has been kept naive of what she is and how she fits into the pack but she is a fast learner and within the two/three week span of the book she shows a fierceness that I did not completely expect but definitely appreciated!

I adore Charles (and Brother Wolf); he seems to be the full package. I love his protectiveness, his authority and his strength of character.   Charles helps Anna heal the broken places deep inside of her with his love and Anna brings him a calmness and acceptance of himself that he has not known before.

“Identity was partly heritage, partly upbringing, but mostly the choices you make in life.”

When Charles goes to his next mission to track down a rouge wolf causing trouble, his father Bran, aka the Marrok, decides it would be best for Anna to come along. Maybe she can defuse the situation before the berserker has to come out.

I really enjoyed that the book flicked between Bran, Anna, Charles and Walter throughout the story, it gave it an amazing depth. I loved that when Charles and Anna go after the rogue werewolf, you immediately start assuming that you know who it is going to be and then there is an unexpected twist!!

I have now started Book #2: Hunting Ground and I have high expectations after this great read!!

Leave a Reply

