REVIEW: Fair Game (Alpha and Omega Book #3)

7942786

Title: Dead Heat
Author: Patricia Briggs
Type: Paperback
Pages: 308
Published: 6th March 2012

4 Stars

As mentioned previously I haven’t read the Mercy Thompson series prior to reading this series, I think I may have understood a bit more of the lead up to this book if I had.

I had expected the series to carry on from the previous book; however this book took place after the werewolves have come out to the humans, which I now understand would take place after the Mercy Thompson book “River Marked”.

Overall however, I don’t think that this affected my experience too badly.  The werewolves have revealed themselves to humans and they can’t afford any bad publicity, so transgressions that previously may have been overlooked are now resulting in harsher punishments, and Charles is the one handling all the dirty-work, but at what cost.

Charles and Anna are sent to Boston to assist the FBI with a local serial killer case. They quickly realize that there is a pattern and reason behind these killings, and now Anna and Charles are in danger of becoming prey.

This was a wonderful reading. I adore the characters, and I love how Anna has become fiercely protective of Charles, and Brother Wolf. Charles story is brilliant in this book, I love that he tries to protect Anna and be strong for her however when he is on the edge of losing her forever he realises how much she needs him to let her be the strong one sometimes.

This book kept me guessing right to the very end, it was fast paced full of adventure, mystery and action. I am looking forward to following their story into Dead Heat!

Leave a Reply

