REVIEW: The Carnelian Legacy (Carnelian Book #1)

cover72142-mediumTitle: The Carnelian Legacy
Author: Cheryl Koevoet
Type: ARC e-book
Pages: 480
Published: 26th February 2013

5 Stars

Amazing Book! I fell in love within the first few chapters!

I absolutely loved the Authors’ writing style!  She is incredibly talented and writes in such an eloquent way, it makes everything come alive in vivid detail. I felt as if the world she built became real.  Cheryl’s style of writing is what I aspire to achieve!

After the death of her father, seventeen-year-old Marisa’s life is on the verge of imploding.  Her brother and Uncle is all she has left.  She seeks a few minutes peace after attending her father’s funeral and heads out on horseback through the woods of Gold Hill, when a mysterious lightning storm strikes. Marisa finds herself hurled into a different dimension with only the clothes on her back and her horse.

Once she finds herself in the land of Carnelia she is discovered by Darian and his cousin, Arrigo. It’s obvious to them that she needs their help, so they take her under their protection in order to get her back home.

Marisa soon finds herself joining Darian and Arrigo on a dangerous mission to negotiate peace with his Darian’s cousin, Savino da Rocha. Along the way, she starts to see Darian’s softer side and finds herself falling in love with him. But once she learns that he is locked into an arranged marriage, her heart shatters.

When Savino falls for her charms and demands her hand in exchange for peace, Marisa is faced with an impossible choice: marry the enemy of the man she loves or betray them both and become the catalyst for a bloody war.

The plot has a magical flow and the characters are simply remarkable. The Carnelian Legacy is a modern day fairy-tale, with a surprising twist! If you enjoy stories about princesses, heroes, kingdoms, machination and devious plans taking place in a parallel universe then I highly recommend reading this.

I loved the concept of the overlapping worlds as postulated by string theory and I felt that the Author did an amazing job of building a very real-feeling world.

The romance was sweet. Not too much but not so little. Although I felt like Marisa fell in love exceptionally quick however buy the end of the book I accepted it and understood it better.   The twist in the story was something I did not expect. I was expecting something to happen but I had never expected that, I just didn’t see it coming!

I fell in love with Carnelia and I cannot wait to read book two!

I was provided an Arc by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you.

One thought on “REVIEW: The Carnelian Legacy (Carnelian Book #1)

Leave a Reply

