The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey: Book 2)

Iron-Daughter

Title: The Iron Daughter
Author: Julie Kagawa
Type: paperback
Pages: 359 pages
Published: 1st August 2010

3 Stars

I haven’t spent very much time reading in the past few months, I have read only one book this year and that was The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa.

Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron fey—ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.

Worse, Meghan’s own fey powers have been cut off. She’s stuck in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can’t help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

I am enjoying the series, although it still follows the same prose of the majority of YA fantasy books; girl falls for boy, friend falls for girl, boy tells girl they cant be together, girl runs to friend with broken heart, boy gets jealous and declares his love, girl runs into his arms and lives happily ever after.  I am finding the love triangles are getting rather predictable and are just screaming ‘Bella, Edward and Jacob’.

I don’t understand why these two boys are in love with Meghan  in the first place, she seems very fickle and rather ridiculous at times. I don’t get how after being told that they have to look like nothing is between them she then gets upset and feels betrayed the minute Ash acts that way! I wanted to shake her.

Ironhorse and Grim are awesome!! Loyal to the end while working towards their own agendas yet always savings the day when these 3 cant get it together.

Some of the plot seems rushed but overall I like the story, I don’t think the love triangle was a necessary addition, but I also get the idea of history repeating itself, lets hope Meghan doesn’t have the same fate as Ariella.

Its definitely not a book I cant put down, but there is enough there that I will continue the journey and see where it ends up.

The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey, #2)The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
https://myfantasyescape.wordpress.com…
View all my reviews

Leave a comment